The Museum of the Sea was firstly created in 1969, as a result of the great passion of professor Mr. Francisco M. Rivera Casás for collecting objects sea-related. Since the very beginning, it is meant to showcase the sailors' life in the coast of Lugo and the biological and etnographic richness. The building housing the museum was built in 1931 to host the single classroom school of San Cibrao.
The museum has four halls. The first hall gathers together the section of graphic documentation and marine mechanics. The second floor exhibits the etnographic funds and the marine fauna: traditional fishing gears, traiñón (a local fishing vessel), whaling, marine mammals, and stuff fish. The third hall is devoted to marine flora and fauna: malacology, algae, corals, crustaceans, echinoderms and fossils. Lastly, the fourth hall shows the navigation section dedicated, on the one hand, to shipbuilding and, on the other hand, to navigation with a selection of navigational charts, instruments, signs, anchor, knots, etc. Inside the museum, there is exhibition of anchor and canons.